Welcome to upstreamNet Communications

Where first-class colocation and best IP connectivity is guaranteed.

Our core competencies are the operation of (bank) certified data centers and the provisioning of IP connectivity as member of the international network operator AS8218. Being Tier2 provider we deliver connectivity to national internet service providers and end costumers – mainly in data center operations – with redundant broadband internet connectivity. 

If housing or IP connectivity – availability, security, flexibility and trustworthiness from our side contribute to the success of our customers.

Previous
Next

About us

As an Austrian company, upstreamNet has been able to meet its excellent reputation for high-quality housing services and IP connectivity on the highest standard for more than a decade. A change in the ownership structure in 2010, gave the successful company a broader base and the service and performance portfolio in the new company network is expanded to include infrastructure solutions, managed services, applications and qualified consulting services.

The focus of the company's activities will continue to be the operation of (financial)certified data centers in the Vienna area, as well as IP connectivity via the international network AS8218, which was set up in 2004 together with the French partner Neo Telecoms. As part of this network, upstreamNet provides, among other things, national Internet providers with a fail-safe international connectivity. The main focus is on customers who operate internet-critical services and require high bandwidths in addition to guaranteed availability. In spite of or perhaps because of these international possibilities, upstreamNet is your Austrian solution provider to realize all the topics in a straightforward, competent way and from a single source.

Vision - Mission - Strategy

Values
Availability, security, flexibility and quality – these factors significantly contribute to the success of our customers.

Vision
Through our services and the quality of our services we are the preferred partner for all of our services and products.

Mission
We facilitate and optimize information and communication for our customers to increase their competitiveness.

Strategy
With our comprehensive portfolio we strive to establish long-term client relationships. Our goal is to contribute the success of our customers.

History

March 1999
Founding of AboveNet Communications GmbH, an Austrian subsidiary of AboveNet Communications Inc., one of the world's largest internet network and data center operators. The company is founded by a joint venture with the Raiffeisen Rechenzentrums GmbH.

March 2000
Metromedia Fiber Network (MFN) acquires AboveNet Communications Inc. with all its subsidiaries. In the course of this transaction, MFN also acquires the shares of Raiffeisen from the joint venture and AboveNet Austria is integrated into the Group as a whole.

March 2004
The Austrian subsidiary is sold through a management buy-out as part of the restructuring of the AboveNet Inc. business unit. The management is taken over by Andreas Welleditsch, former general manager of AboveNet Austria and now managing shareholder.

October 2004
AboveNet Communications GmbH now operates under the name upstreamNet Communications GmbH. As a Tier 2 provider, the company continues to provide its customers in the usual quality with high-availability services in the new “AS8218” network.

November 2010
After changes in the ownership structure, the portfolio in the new company network is expanded to include infrastructure solutions, managed services, applications and qualified consulting services. upstreamNet is a management owned, independent Austrian company.

March 2013
The possibilities in the area of colocation are expanded by adding data center space in the on demand center (ODC21). As of now additional 200 square meter of data center space is available, which can be adapted to individual customer requirements. The integration into the own Dark Fiber Backbone opens up new possibilities for high availability and site redundancy from a single source. 

en_USEnglish

Willkommen bei upstreamNet Communications

Ihr Garant für erstklassige Colocation-Lösungen & beste IP-Connectivity.

Der Betrieb von (banken)zertifizierten Rechenzentren zum einen und die Bereitstellung von IP-Connectivity als Teil des internationalen Betreibernetzwerks AS8218 zum anderen sind unsere Kernkompetenzen. Als Tier2 Provider versorgen wir unter anderem nationale Internetanbieter wie auch Endkunden – vorwiegend im Rechenzentrumsbetrieb – mit redundanten, breitbandigen Internetanbindungen. 

Ob Housing oder IP-Connectivity – Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit gepaart mit Flexibilität und Handschlagqualität sind jene Faktoren, die zum Erfolg unserer Kunden beitragen.

Über uns

Als österreichisches Unternehmen wird upstreamNet seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt seinem ausgezeichneten Ruf für qualitativ hochwertige Housingdienste und IP-Connectivity auf höchstem Standard gerecht. Mit Änderung in der Eigentümerstruktur 2010 ist das erfolgreiche Unternehmen breiter aufgestellt und hat durch den Unternehmensverbund das Service- und Leistungsportfolio u.a. um Infrastrukturlösungen, Managed Services, Applikationen und qualifizierte Beratungsleistungen erweitert.

Die Schwerpunkte der Unternehmenstätigkeit bleiben weiterhin der Betrieb von (banken-)zertifizierten Rechenzentren im Wiener Raum sowie IP-Connectivity über das internationale Betreibernetzwerk AS8218, das 2004 gemeinsam mit dem französischen Partner Neo Telecoms aufgebaut wurde. upstreamNet versorgt als Teil dieses Netzwerks unter anderem nationale Internetanbieter mit einer ausfallsicheren, internationalen Connectivity. Der Fokus liegt dabei vor allem auf Kunden, die internetkritische Services betreiben und neben garantierten Verfügbarkeiten hohe Bandbreiten benötigen. Trotz oder gerade wegen dieser internationalen Möglichkeiten ist upstreamNet daher Ihr österreichischer Lösungsanbieter, um all die Themenstellungen in unkomplizierter, kompetenter Weise und aus einer Hand zu realisieren.

Vision - Mission - Strategie

Werte
Verfügbarkeit, Sicherheit, Flexibilität und Handschlagqualität – jene Faktoren, die maßgeblich zum Erfolg unserer Kunden beitragen.

Vision
Durch unsere Leistungen und die Qualität unserer Services sind wir in der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie der bevorzugte Partner bei allen unseren Services und Produkten.

Mission
Wir ermöglichen und optimieren Information und Kommunikation für unsere Kunden, um deren Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu steigern.

Strategie
Mit unserem umfassenden Gesamtportfolio streben wir langfristige und partnerschaftliche Kundenbeziehungen an. Unser Fokus liegt stets darauf, zum Erfolg unserer Kunden beizutragen.

Geschichte

März 1999
Gründung der AboveNet Communications GmbH als österreichisches Tochterunternehmen der AboveNet Communications Inc., eines der weltweit größten Internet-Netzwerk und Rechenzentrumsbetreibers. Die Gründung erfolgt durch ein Joint Venture mit der Raiffeisen Rechenzentrums Ges.m.b.H.

März 2000
Metromedia Fiber Network (MFN) akquiriert AboveNet Communications Inc. mit allen Tochterunternehmen. Im Zuge dieser Transaktion erwirbt MFN ebenso die Anteile der Raiffeisen aus dem Joint Venture und AboveNet Österreich wird zu 100 Prozent im Konzern eingegliedert.

März 2004
Das österreichische Tochterunternehmen wird im Rahmen der Umstrukturierung des Geschäftsbereiches der AboveNet Inc. über einen Management Buy-Out verkauft. Die Geschäftsleitung wird von Andreas Welleditsch, vormals General Manager von AboveNet Österreich und nunmehr geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, übernommen.

Oktober 2004
AboveNet Communications GmbH firmiert nunmehr unter dem Namen upstreamNet Communications GmbH. Als Tier-2 Provider (lt. Wikipedia „Betreiber von großen, wichtigen, überregionalen Netzwerken“) versorgt das Unternehmen im neuen Betreibernetzwerk „AS8218“ die Kunden auch weiterhin mit hochverfügbaren Services in gewohnter Qualität.

November 2010
Nach Veränderungen in der Eigentümerstruktur erweitert sich das Portfolio im neuen Unternehmensverbund um Infrastrukturlösungen, Managed Services, Applikationen und qualifizierte Beratungsleistungen. upstreamNet ist ein unabhängiges, österreichisches Unternehmen im Managementbesitz.

März 2013
Die Möglichkeiten im Bereich Colocation werden durch Hinzunahme einer zusätzlichen Rechenzentrumsfläche im on demand center (ODC21) erweitert. Ab sofort stehen somit weitere 200 Quadratmeter Rechenzentrumsfläche zur Verfügung, die auf individuelle Kundenanforderungen adaptiert werden können. Mit der Integration in den eigenen Dark Fiber Backbone erschließen sich neue Lösungsmöglichkeiten punkto Hochverfügbarkeit und Standortredundanz aus einer Hand.